11 August 2009

Mutya ng Pilipinas 2009 Winners

Mutya ng Pilipinas 2009 crowned its winners last Sunday, August 9, in Quezon Province in the Philippines. Jane Banares who was representing Bicol and Jacqueline Schubert of Northern Germany were the overall winners.

Banares is Mutya ng Pilipinas International while Schubert is Mutya ng Pilipinas Tourism International.

Ana Baladad who was representing the Filipino community in Texas, USA, was proclaimed the winner of Mutya ng Pilipinas Overseas.

A question was raised about the title of Baladad. How could she be declared Mutya ng Pilipinas Overseas if she was not even a semi-finalist?

First and Second Runners-up of the pageant were Samantha East of Toronto, Canada and Jennielyn Natividad of Quezon City.

The semi-finalists were Athena Mae Imperial, Rene McHugh, Dominique Lagrimas, Mae Lanie Chan, Jo Ann Peria, Karen Nacario, Mary Ann Buenaventura and Jenroe Gubat.

For more information on the winners of the special awards, visit Joyce Ann Burton's blog.

The winner of Mutya ng Pilipinas previously goes to compete at Miss Asia-Pacific International. The last time this pageant was staged was in 2005 in China.